Introducing Serap Maktav new CER Turkey

Posted on

serap-maktavBorn in Ankara, Turkey, I studied Psychology in Middle East Technical University followed by  M.Sc. in Child Psychology  at Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John’s. Nfld. I completed my Ph.D. in Experimental Child Psychology in Ankara University during the initial years of my marriage and birth of my son. Also while working as Assistant in the University. I continued to teach in University, both undergraduate and graduate students of Psychology for around 8 years after which I joined UNICEF. I started as a National Officer (Programme Planning) in Turkey and after 8 years became international and had great experiences in Central and South Asia countries, first in Turkmenistan as Assistant Representative, then in Pakistan as Deputy Representative and finally in the Regional office of South Asia, Kathmandu being responsible for Child Protection of the 8 south Asia countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Maldives). As indicated above I have a son, married, living and working as Bio-medical Engineer in USA.
I returned to Turkey in 2007 when I retired from UNICEF and   became a member of Ankara Branch of TAUW in 2008. Since then I have served as the Executive Board member and for a short period as the President of Ankara Branch, and since 2016 June as Executive Board member and CER of HQ.
I have attended CSW meetings of 2011 and 2013 as part of the IFUW delegation, and was a member of LAC for the IFUW Triennial Conference held in Istanbul in 2013. I believe in the importance of education of girls which will enable them to be empowered with knowledge, have a career enabling their economic independence. I look forward to working closely with the UWE Board and ensuring that our branches have productive partnerships with member countries.
4 thoughts on “Introducing Serap Maktav new CER Turkey

    President University Women of EUROPE said:
    October 11, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    Very welcome Serap! Your experience is very impressing.

    garbilarra said:
    October 11, 2016 at 8:58 pm

    Congratulations Serap! I am sure you will do a magnificent job.
    Garbiñe Larrazabal
    President of Marbella Branch of SFUW

    Linda Rebecca Williams said:
    October 12, 2016 at 11:40 am

    All the very best Serap! from SLAUW.

    Verizon fios said:
    November 20, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    Loving the info onn this internhet site, you have donbe outstanding jobb on the blog
    posts.

Leave a Reply

